Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Locations of visitors to this page Click for Avondale, Arizona Forecast

2005-01-04 - 11:17 a.m.

It's 10:00 AM, I've done my morning computer stuff so I walk over to my Lazy Boy recliner and plunk down, a verbotten blueberry bagel in hand, coffee at the ready. I pick up a paperback ready to zone out even better than TV, and truthfully, for this kind of reading, with even less recall when done. Short term memory loss? Maybe, but paperbacks go a lot further when you can reread them a dozen times with each being a brand "new" read!

Slowly but inexorably down the ersatz oriental rug runners comes Mr. Midnite as he certainly will every time I sit down and put my feet up; walking thru the tiled entry way past the master bedroom door down his personal thruway to the sliding doors to the backyard, his personal poopdom.

As he lopes past me, he pauses and glances my way. I catch his eye which causes him to continue to the door, standing and waiting, ever so seemingly patient but certainly demanding service to those who understand.

As I reflect on this ritual and my inability to pretend I don't understand his unspoken request, there is a tap at the door, just a reminder tap not a demanding "get your ass in gear" tap. That will be next!

"OK, OK, I'm coming! I live to obey your every command, you big black bastard!" I exclaim, as I lever myself out of comfort.

I open the door and watch as he walks a few steps then turns and gives me that "Aren't you going to come and keep me company while I do my thing" look. Seeing me slide the door closed he saunters off with that smug wiggle his rear end makes when he walks. Actually it's more arthritis than arrogance these days.

I sit back down knowing it's futile, as surely "what goes out must come back in". (Midnite's first law of thermodognitus, the second being the reverse, what goes in (the mouth) must come out (the butt). I trust you can see the relationship between the two.)

And so he does signal with that insistant tap on the glass, though not before I'm comfortable again, his desire to be readmitted. It's amazing this ability to convey his desires nonverbally.


Big Middy on the doggie thru way.

Doggily catering all day, Curiouoso*

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

previous - next

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

update for march - 2010-03-20

party time - 2010-02-07

back again - 2009-12-05

Who Links Here

Consumer Disclaimer!