Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Locations of visitors to this page Click for Avondale, Arizona Forecast

2006-10-31 - 9:28 a.m.

OK Folks,

We have a winner. Unfortunately Mr. Tree never left a clue what his diary is.....

Here's the real skinny:
______________________________________

> >From: Shade Tree
>
> >To: Curiouoso*
> >Subject: Puppy Names
> >Date: Sat, 28 Oct 2006 10:46:30 -0700 (PDT)
> >
> >Ok, you've asked for it. But since you're one of two diaries I read, and
> >you complained enough, I would hate to disappoint.
> >
> >Not only do you have no idea who I am, but I'm also bad at naming puppies.
> >Here's a list for shits and giggles.
> >
> >
> >Scally Wag (some day I may have a dog named that if you don't do it)
> >Damnit (this was actually the name of my uncle's Old English Sheep
> >dog...."Come here, Damnit." "Damnit, Sit." It works well)
> >
> >Obvious:
> >Chopper
> >Harley
> >Davidson
> >Fat Boy
> >
> >Color:
> >Biscuit
> >Chino
> >Buck (because he looks like a buckskin)
> >
> >Historical/Theocratic:
> >Argos (Odysseus' blind hunting dog)
> >Brutus (et tu Brute`?)
> >Geronimo (Apache Leader in NM)
> >Plato (because it sounds nice with Anya)
> >Odin (In Norse Mythology)
> >Truman (German for "Faithful Man" as well as a famous name)
> >
> >Behavior:
> >Agro (crazy/aggressive)
> >Chansu (means chance)
> >Frisbee
> >Scooter (possibly not fit for a German Shep.)
> >Monster
> >Zen (ooohhhhhmmmmmmm)
> >
> >Misc.:
> >Cadet
> >Dono (Japanese title for someone for whom you have great respect)
> >Duke (duh, right?)
> >Ranger
> >Scout
> >
> >It's tough to name a dog I haven't met, but those are my best shots after
> >just looking at him. Good Luck!!!
> >
> >Shade Tree
> >
> >P.S. I was going to actually write these earlier, but there's no way to
> >leave a message on your diary. ***** (Actually there is, Notes, at the bottom of the Profile page) ********
I stopped short of the amibtion of actually writing an e-mail, because, that's just too damned much work.
_________________________________________________

>Curiouoso wrote: Shade Tree,

>That was a great list! The Odin and Plato were along the lines I was
>considering. I decided on Beauregard as it sounds like some stuffy french,
>well educated but decandent black sheep of the family aristocrat. Maybe a
>best friend to The Marquis de Sade! Pressure from the wife made an early
>decision neccesary.
>
>I particularly liked Argos, Was he the loyal companion who waited 10 years
>or somesuch at home, and when Odysseus returned, no one recognized him except the dog who ran up and greeted him joyfully then died of old age? If so that was the name I was looking for and will definately become part of his formal name. Beauregard Argos Curiouoso*.
>
>I think you won the contest.Let me know where to send $10. or a gift
>certificate for a dinner out and where.
>
>Thanks for reading and writing, I really enjoy hearing from people who have
>read. Otherwise it's like putting a note in a bottle and tossing it
>overboard in the Sargasso sea. You don't have a clue if it's stuck in
>seaweed or being the talk of the town in Kuala Lumpur.
>
___________________________________________________________________

>From: Shade Tree
>To: Curioso*
>Subject: RE: Puppy Names
>Date: Sun, 29 Oct 2006 12:54:24 -0800 (PST)
>
Curiouoso*,
>
>Yes, Argos was the name of Odysseus' dog that waited for him to return from
>the Trojan War. Some counts say Odyss. was gone 10 years, others say 20.
>Either way, Argos had realized his destiny to recognize his master, and
>died just after seeing him.
>
>Stolen from Wikipedia, which has stolen this excerpt from the Odyssey:
>
>
> As they were thus talking, a dog that had been lying asleep raised his
>head and pricked up his ears. This was Argos, whom Odysseus had bred before
>setting out for Troy, but he had never had any enjoyment from him. In the
>old days he used to be taken out by the young men when they went hunting
>wild goats, or deer, or hares, but now that his master was gone he was
>lying neglected on the heaps of mule and cow dung that lay in front of the
>stable doors till the men should come and draw it away to manure the great
>close; and he was full of fleas. As soon as he saw Odysseus standing there,
>he dropped his ears and wagged his tail, but he could not get close up to
>his master. When Odysseus saw the dog on the other side of the yard, dashed
>a tear from his eyes without Eumaeus seeing it, and said:
> "Eumaeus, what a noble hound that is over yonder on the manure heap:
>his build is splendid; is he as fine a fellow as he looks, or is he only
>one of those dogs that come begging about a table, and are kept merely for
>show?"
> "This hound," answered Eumaeus, "belonged to him who has died in a far
>country. If he were what he was when Odysseus left for Troy, he would soon
>show you what he could do. There was not a wild beast in the forest that
>could get away from him when he was once on its tracks. But now he has
>fallen on evil times, for his master is dead and gone, and the women take
>no care of him. Servants never do their work when their master's hand is no
>longer over them, for Zeus takes half the goodness out of a man when he
>makes a slave of him."
> So saying he entered the well-built mansion, and made straight for the
>riotous pretenders in the hall. But Argos passed into the darkness of
>death, now that he had seen his master once more after twenty years.Sad,
>almost makes me want to read that classic. Perhaps in my "free time."
>
>As for the $10. Do me a favor, and buy Beauregard a Kong when he's big
>enough, and post a picture of him with it, some time. My old Doberman used
>to have one, and she loved it.
>
>Unless you've already got a Kong for him, then you can send the cash to:
>
Shade Tree
Unknown Road
Gladiators All City, N.Y.
>
>Yes, NY.....and Long Island, at that! Don't ask how I ended up here. I'm
>not exactly sure myself. I'm currently looking at a career change to get
>me out of this ice-hell. Not to mention getting away from the
>self-righteous, self-centered assholes, everywhere. Then again, I
>complained about FL, too.
>
>Some day, I will clean my diary out of all the whiny, ramblings of a slowly
>maturing 20-something year-old, and start a real bit of writing. I'll let
>you know when that happens. It might be an interesting read.
>
>And now that the dialogue is open, I'll e-mail occasionally about your
>diary.
>
Shade Tree
______________________________

A Hunting dog he must be, as he already "hunted" down and found a tick; the first I've ever seen in my backyard. Mr Bo also seems a bit "learning challenged", as he tangled with the same cactus thorns twice so far. I never had to remove any cactus spikes from Midnite, but Bo manged 2 about 4 inches long embedded halfway in his fur. Ouch!

Curiouoso*

P.S. The situation in California turns grimmer then better and back again on a daily basis....Should I go or should I stay?

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

previous - next

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

update for march - 2010-03-20

party time - 2010-02-07

back again - 2009-12-05

Who Links Here

Consumer Disclaimer!