Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Locations of visitors to this page Click for Avondale, Arizona Forecast

2005-05-22 - 8:26 a.m.

Phoenix has turned a bit warm these last few days. Warm enough that going out in the afternoon quickly discourages any real labor.

It was 112 in the back yard yesterday, and is supposed to be hotter today.

I worked in the yard from 8-11:30 then swam for an hour. Now I have a sunburn on my scalp, ouch! I shouldn't have cut my hair so short last week, it's so fine that when short, it gives no protection from the sun. At least I have hair with no bald spots! I guess it could have been worse for sunburn locations...

I finished at the Cardinals, Friday. I really enjoyed it as the people were really friendly there and my co-workers easy to work with. I networked around the building before I left hoping perhaps there might be a place there in the future. The only problem was that while 4 hours a day in the morning was a real nice shift, the rest of the day being free, I didn't make enough money to be able to utilize the extra free time. You know the old free time - no money or adequate money - no time conundrum. All in All it was a great work experiance.

I have 6 weeks till the next contract, barring finding a short gig, and THIS TIME, I have decided to utilize the time to accomplish some goals. (Right, just like all that weight I was going to lose this year!) I am going to practice keyboarding daily and try to retrain my fingers not to hit the wrong keys, I'm going to do the taxes (! No, it's not pre April 15th) Clean up my office, study and test for a new computer certification. I'd put down exercise alot, but lets keep it some what real.

How many times have you read or heard that the ACLU is defending some unpopular or real asshole person? The constant refrain is that an organization that defends those issues or people is a bad organization. The problem lies in keeping true to the ideals of the organization:

"The mission of the ACLU is to preserve all of these protections and guarantees:

Your First Amendment rights-freedom of speech, association and assembly. Freedom of the press, and freedom of religion supported by the strict separation of church and state.

Your right to equal protection under the law - equal treatment regardless of race, sex, religion or national origin.

Your right to due process - fair treatment by the government whenever the loss of your liberty or property is at stake.

Your right to privacy - freedom from unwarranted government intrusion into your personal and private affairs."

To preserve our rights the ACLU needs to protect EVERYONES rights, even unpopular people and issues.

A similar idea can be brought to the mundane and personal level as well.

Last night the neighbors on one side held a VERY loud party, with rap "music" at high volume across from our bedroom. At 11:00 pm Amy woke me up and wanted me to go ask them to turn it down. The "music" was getting progressively louder, but I declined saying that 1 party in 2 years was not a major inconvenience and it was thier house, not an apartment in close quaters. Just because our bedroom is opposite thier party does not an offense make.

She was very upset cause she was tired and a half hour later wanted to call the cops. I am against that in principle, as we want to create a Neighborhood not a antagonistic situation. At best, if it continued till 3 o'clock or more I would ask them to turn it down, but it wasn't midnight and it was a Saturday night, right.

She went in another room to try to sleep, though apparently that didn't help. I lay awake in bed listening to "fuck the bitch", more "Fucks" and "Bitches", "Ho", "Nigger", etc. along with the massive thump of overamped bass, things I don't really enjoy, but as unhappy as I might be at that moment, the overiding factors were:

This is not a constant thing.
It's thier house next door.
Calling the police is like crying to Mommy.
They have the right to enjoy thier space .
I'm sure I can and will somehow crimp thier style at some time and don't want them to interfere.

In short, tolerance, even when I don't agree or like it, is a neccessary thing.

I dreampt last night of counsling some young girl to reconsider her decision for an abortion, citing the fact I'm here and wasn't aborted though my mother faced a similar decision. I don't recall the end, but it definately was the way I believe, A woman's right is absolutely first, but sometimes should be exercised with restraint. Of course that should always be her decision and doesn't reflect poorly on her in any case, nor should she be forced to jump thru hoops to justify it.

Enough soapbox for today, indolance and sloth (read laziness and Margaritas) will rule this Sunday.

Curiouoso* (Tequila is my middle name)reporting from the desert of Phoenix!

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

previous - next

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

update for march - 2010-03-20

party time - 2010-02-07

back again - 2009-12-05

Who Links Here

Consumer Disclaimer!