Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Locations of visitors to this page Click for Avondale, Arizona Forecast

2005-04-24 - 10:15 a.m.

Demophobia- Fear of crowds (Perhaps a little, more Dislike of Crowds).

Ok, I exagerated a little bit. That tourist probably didn't hear me and wouldn't have understood if he did. Also I wasn't confronting in my "get in his way actions", I merely walked through a couple times as I left. See, I'm not that Asshole of a guy all the time.

Tourists are tourists, American, Japanese, German, or Whomever, and tend to be able to be stupid without too much trouble. It is up to each of us, when traveling to aviod being the "hated" tourist type. Usually Japanese tourists are an easy target for ridicule as they often travel in busloads and are noticibly "different".

German tourists with thier big cameras are often Funny too, but the worst tourist I ever saw was an American Family in Amsterdam.
I was hitchhiking and got picked up by them in a VW Van. The father was an atrocious driver and yelled out the window at everyone. Everyone knew they were American and I was mortified to be identified with them. After all Holland is one of the most laid back places around, but to hear them, thier vacation was one step short of slow death by stupid European torture!

I said to Amy that there must be a word for my feelings on crowded places. The Chapel was a small area and people constantly "invaded" my personal space, that's why I didn't care for it. She said, "yes, the word is anti-social! I don't understand how you can be like that and be so friendly other times."

I answer," Anti-social is not the word, I just have a strong sense of personal space and I don't like people I don't know crowding me uninvited. My friendliness is by choice, on my terms, not in an uninvited crowd."

She said,"They have every right to be there."

I agreed, but I have the right not to be there, and to leave when I'm no longer comfortable. Then I asked here this morning, "Was that place "special for you?"

She answered, "Yes, I felt very spiritual there on top the hill in the chapel."

Another difference between us I guess, as I didn't feel anything there, but feel closer to Nature (or God, as you will) perhaps just on top of the nearby mountain, without the tourist multitude and fancy architecture. I don't need my "spirituality" dictated by a church or interpreted by priests.

Amy says it's amazing we've been together this long with our many differences. I say Why? It's our friendship and love that created and sustains a family, not any percieved differences.

*********************************

I'm getting many referrals from search engines ranging from "Black Labs" to "pierced body parts". I'm sure most of those people are very disappointed in what they find, but perhaps some might get thier fancy tickled and become regulars. So far I'm staying pretty steady for regulars, no additions and no drops. I'm amazed and gratified that I haven't lost anyone by insult. After all at this point nothing is sacred and it's F**kem if they can't take a joke. That doesn't mean I'm purposely and senselessly insensitive, I really don't want to be rude for no reason, but sacred cows are meant to punctured and the air let out. (Those metaphors are terribly mixed, Pricking a sacred cow lets the air out? what are sacred cows ballons?)

Here's some thoughts to consider: If I had to pick a phobia to have and to hold, why not Arachibutyrophobia- Fear of peanut butter sticking to the roof of the mouth or Alliumphobia- Fear of garlic?

Lutraphobia- Fear of otters is not one most people have to deal with. Or maybe the lack of Otters in the urban ares makes it even worse? I definately am not susceptable to this: Zemmiphobia- Fear of the great mole rat! #1. I don't even have any moles #2. How many mole rats could possibly have "The Great" as a title?

Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia- Fear of long words may be my downfall, but what is the fear of Misspelling words thus proving you are most ignorant? That's got to be mine!

That's all for now folks!!!

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

previous - next

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

update for march - 2010-03-20

party time - 2010-02-07

back again - 2009-12-05

Who Links Here

Consumer Disclaimer!