Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Locations of visitors to this page Click for Avondale, Arizona Forecast

2008-09-16 - 2:47 a.m.

I think about my life in decades. Maybe looking at life would be easier or make more sense in 5 year increments, but that will have to wait until age 60. Perhaps that will be just like the 50's and it'll be a 15 year time period. Up till now, I've always thought that each decade has been better to me. My 30's better than my twenties, forties better than thirties, etc. The day that life clearly starts winding down will probably be when I'll start measuring in 5 year increments. Then when you measure in 1 year increments you better have your Sh*T together, because getting to making it through one day at a time sounds a bit too twevle step for me, and what can be accomplished in a day other than just getting thru it?

I've decided my 50s have been the decade of change. It's time to wake up and smell the roses, things past are not neccesarily the things of the future. Adjustments will have to made to reflect health, ability, and monetary considerations. The fact that my 50th year co-incided with 2001, and the changing of our economic, societal and life freedoms (vis a vis our government tending towards fashism over freedoms) only accentuates my "decade of change".

I'm getting the feeling We need to "Get the Hell out of Dodge" more and more frequently. You know, before the Sheriff steps in to create "law and order", Carrie Nation arrives in town with her axe to rid us of the evil saloons and liquor, The traveling preachers alight and set down roots to close up houses of ill repute and cleanse all of us from sins, so we can be cookie cutter moralists in unison, condenming Eveyone we don't agree with to Hell.

My "sins" and your "sins" may be the same "sins", but I really resent the new and improved version of sins that seem to follow "Moral Arbiters" around like fleas on dogs.

Sarah Palin apparently has a whole list of sins thou shall not commit, and appears to be ready to "put to the sword" people who disagree.

The Catholic church has it's traditional "sins", lust, gluttony, avarice, sloth, anger, envy and pride, but has recently promoted some more. "Bishop Gianfranco Girotti, head of the Apostolic Penitentiary, the Vatican body which oversees confessions and plenary indulgences, recently added new sins which have appeared on the horizon of humanity as a corollary of the unstoppable process of globalization." They include,"You offend God not only by stealing, blaspheming or coveting your neighbor�s wife, but also by ruining the environment, carrying out morally debatable scientific experiments, or allowing genetic manipulations which alter DNA or compromise embryos,� he said.

Bishop Girotti said that mortal sins also included taking or dealing in drugs, and social injustice which caused poverty or �the excessive accumulation of wealth by a few.�

He said that two mortal sins which continued to preoccupy the Vatican were abortion, which offended �the dignity and rights of women,� and pedophilia, which had even infected the clergy itself and so had exposed the �human and institutional fragility of the Church.�
(Stolen from Fox News Web site)

Most of the new ones I can hang with, generally, but I'm not a black & white person, I'm still in the era of TV's proclamation of "Shown in Living Color". Make that living in Living color.

So if the last part of my Change decade includes repressing life back to black and white, Yes and No, Christian American or Criminal, I'm going to have to opt out of that one.

It's the added "Personal sins" I'm against. The "Thou shall not wear long hair types."

When I was a mere 18, a religious
moralist, at work, (Thank God that's changed) came up to me and informed me (As if he thought it would change me right there, (Oh sorry Jesus, I'll go out right now and cut my hair!) that men with long hair was against the bible. I immediatey said, "Really, I didn't know that. If you bring me the bible and show me exactly where it says that, I'll not only cut my hair short ,but I'll join your church!"

Needless to point out, it never happened.

This is where our society seems to be heading, and that's where I opt out.

I'll quit flogging a dead horse now, but plese let me know if you disagree about the direction certain people are trying to force us in.

Curiouoso* doesn't really want to be part of a new dark ages.

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

previous - next

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

update for march - 2010-03-20

party time - 2010-02-07

back again - 2009-12-05

Who Links Here

Consumer Disclaimer!