Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Locations of visitors to this page Click for Avondale, Arizona Forecast

2004-12-03 - 8:57 a.m.

Now updated...... My head hurts my feet stink and I don't love Jesus....

I think, Dear Readers, you know where this is going....

Not that any of you have been there before....

Motorcycle helmets are sometimes referred to as brain buckets. While I actually feel pretty good right now, it's comforting to think that if my head threatens to explode, I can always go put it on and at least keep the pieces in one place.

We started out at dinner at Abeulos a really fine Mexican restaraunt. it was wonderfull even if it cost over $300.

Arturo and I have a habit of a sort of "fine wine one upsmanship". This has been going on for years and isn't a bad thing as we open those bad boys and drink them immediately after proudly displaying the latest aquisition. No million dollar wine cellars in either of our houses!

Last night he tried to convince me he had obtained the most expensive bottle of wine he ever bought. I know better though, $100. at half price doesn't make the cut. Close but no banana. However we had some fine wine including a Kenwood Cabernet Artist Series '99, an Ironstone Merlot, a nice Chilean cab at dinner that I forgot the name of, and another as well. Not to be outdone I pulled out a double magnum of Van Ruiten old vine Cabernet signed by the winemaker, the Vintner and I think the grape picker. I actually saved that for nearly a year, amazingly enough.

The good news is there is some of that left for today. After all there were only 4 people last night and 7 litres plus 2 pitchers of margaritas is about enough. And you thought I was kidding when I told you about the 700 lbs of recycled wine bottles in one year.

We reminised about the BV Georges Latour Private Reserve we drank 15 years ago that I somehow scammed from a winery back then. I don't recall the vintage but it was an early 60s that is still far and away the best ever wine I've had. Online there's adverts for various years for $100. or so, but if it is pristine, good luck actually buying it. To be continued.....

Ok, I'm back. I just saw a glass that wasn't finished from last night and can't let good wine go to waste! So we went to the Phoenix Desert Botanical Gardens. Now that was really something. It's part of Papago park, miles of trails and all sorts of stuff from archeology to history to dead mayors to big rocks! Later we went to old town Scottsdale for western fun in The Rusty Spur, an old Bar. Cowboy music and lunch a few drinks $90.00. Whoops I forgot we were in Scottsdale where money grows on trees or at least cactus bushes (I guess?) Good fun none-the-less. Now we're back for steak and chicken Bar-b-que and another double magnum of the Van Ruitan. And it's only friday....

Well if I don't die by Thursday I'll be roaring Friday nite!

Roar, Roar, Curiouoso*

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

previous - next

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

update for march - 2010-03-20

party time - 2010-02-07

back again - 2009-12-05

Who Links Here

Consumer Disclaimer!