Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Locations of visitors to this page Click for Avondale, Arizona Forecast

2008-07-12 - 3:00 p.m.

It's a small world all right. I'm reminded of that constantly.

I was in BevMO (a big liquor store chain) the other day looking for some wine, when I saw some wine from Hanna winery in Sebastopol, Ca. It reminded me of one of my best friends, "General", as in General Mills, who used to work in thier tasting rooms many years ago. I spent a few afternoons tasting wines, again and again, while he worked. I wondered how he's been, and thought of contacting him last time I was in Ca. but didn't have the number or the time.

He ran into my buddy Arturo while tasting wines in Napa or Sonoma the other day. He thought he recognized Arturo even though they hadn't seen each other for years. My name came up and the General called me today. It was a pleasure hearing from him since I haven't seen him since his last wedding, 10 years ago. We are going to get together in December when I'll be back there for a visit.

He's the Bastard who conned me into running the Bay to Breakers (link) 3 years in a row, even though I hated running and hadn't since high school. We used to run the 7.5 miles then walk to the park and drink the free beer all afternoon. It would take me 3 hours to get there, (there's hills, you know) and He and Arturo would get there in less than an hour! Bastards!

It's been nearly 20 years and I'll bet neither of them will be running that again any time soon!

The General employed my daughter's husband's aunt, see here, in commercials he produced. It's amazing all the things that tie people together. (For example: Arturo"s Ex- wife is a draftsperson in Santa Rosa, Nick, Mel's husband, was going to work there. His mother, newly single, had a boyfriend she met, who worked with Tracey. My Aunt lived in Sebastopol, Ca. and took her dogs to a vet at the bottom of the hill below her house. Nick's mother worked there as a veternary's assistant and knew her before Nick and Mel got married. Granted, all these places are within 25 miles of one another, but there's a hell of alot of people there!)

I was hard at work rolling up the coins that I throw in big jar every day, that consists of all my change at the end of every day, when the General called. I just reached $55.00 and decided, "No Mas, No Mas!" as the phone rang. Now, to go spend it!

Curiouoso reminding you, "Don't let your babies grow up to be Cowboys!", and "Watch out where the Huskies go, an don't you eat no yellow snow!"

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

previous - next

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

Nigerian spams again - 2010-09-11

update for march - 2010-03-20

party time - 2010-02-07

back again - 2009-12-05

Who Links Here

Consumer Disclaimer!